And Why Isn’t She Black Also?!

1.beautiful afro costa rican woman 2.  beautiful afro American woman 3 beautiful afro Brazilian woman4.beautiful Guyanese woman

5.beautiful African American woman 6.beautiful African American woman 7.  beautiful Afro Panamanian woman8. beautiful Afro Nicaraguan woman9.negrosamericanos9

10.beautiful afro costa rican woman11.beautiful afro Brazilian woman12.beautiful haitian woman  13.beautiful Afro Nicaraguan woman

14.beauty in the Barbados15.beautiful Afro Colombian woman 16.beautiful African American woman 17.beautiful Dominican woman

So you can see in the pictures 17 different women that I either know personally, or maybe met during my travels.  With a clean slate one merely observes the photos and sees the beauty of these natural black sistaz in their untouched original state.  One does not necessarily focus on the difference in skin tone nor hair texture.  This group of 17 women look so different individually, but grouped together like this, could most certainly be related to one another.  They are of a similar family, they are Black!  But why do we feel such a need to replace the term Black with Nationalities, or as Americans, feel that we have a monopoly over the word Black. I cannot tell you how many times I have been attacked during conversations in the black blogosphere. Attacked mainly by certain AA women who don’t seem to understand the the racial dynamics of the diaspora.  There is automatically a picture that pops into our minds about the inhabitants of many of these “spanish speaking” countries.  We think of a straight or curly haired “Latina” and that is ok.  The problem stems from that being the only image we have of all the citizens in Latin American countries.  So now an AA woman hears a man say that he has a woman from Central America and in many cases an image will already be painted that does not include a black woman.

cherl

“She’s not black, she’s ____.”  For some reason we feel that people from other countries in the America, have to be simply labelled by their Nationality, meanwhile the title Black is reserved strictly for African Americans.  I  never understood this notion.  The same as I didn’t understand why many of the Blacks that come from Latin American countries try desperately to denounce their blackness and cling to their nationalities as well.  However, it was clear while living in Panama that to be black was to have limited upward mobility.  The same thing was clear in Costa Rica, Puerto Rico and well, most countries that have a black population.  We are always subjected to the most poverty stricken situations with no way out in sight.  For many, becoming blind to race so to speak and “mejorarando la raza” (remember we talked about that in another post) is the way out.  To associate yourself with “Black” maybe associating with the status quo of poverty and despair.  If you were to instead be, let’s say Colombian, now you can find another Colombian and start a Colombian family where race is not a factor, rather class appearance and education. The media in many of these countries as well definitely has an influential effect on the psyche of many of these people.

joy

I took this picture at a mall in San Jose, Costa Rica.  I was just in awe of how everywhere I turned there were billboards like this.  Many people would probably call me an asshole for even noticing something was wrong with this, but i do think it results in brainwash.  Look at the sheer joy and elation on his face lol!  When you see the few black families in videos or novels they rarely seem happy, rather aggravated at one another.  In the states on the other hand, because the Colonies were founded for settlement purposes, many white women came along and the colonists were able to continue to create white families as racial mixing was forbidden.  You are pretty much black in the States if you have a drop or two of blackness and have some features, not to mention African Americans had a Civil Rights and Black Conscious Movement.  With all this said, it is easy for us to retreat within and think that we are the only ones, and that we share this part of the world with people that look and behave so much different than us.  But when we travel we begin to see that nothing could be further from the truth.

Below are the list of countries that correspond (by the number) with the women in the pictures above.

1. Costa Rica

2. United States

3. Brazil

4. Guyana

5. United States

6. United States

7. Panama

8. Nicaragua

9. Panama

10.Costa Rica

11. Brazil

12.Haiti

13.Nicaragua

14.Barbados

15.Colombia

16. United States

17.Dominican Republic

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “And Why Isn’t She Black Also?!

  1. Ingrid Jordan

    Well like I always say we need the media to show all of our AFRObeauty; we are everywhere.

  2. yes we are Tia!!!! tanks for commenting 🙂

  3. great post!sometimes i feel ostracized by some black american women who see me as separate from them because my folks hail from Cuba.And then Latinas treat me like “la otra” because I’m black and proud of being black, as if i’m just supposed to forget that i experience the world as a black woman first. It’s like i can’t win, it’s like a teaching experience I have to provide everyone.

    Got yourself a new follower 🙂

  4. 🙂 thanks a lot as I too am now following you ladies as well.. and its interesting that you say you feel ostracized by some AA women. Do you have an accent? do you feel that they treat you differently when they learn that you are Cuban? I’m very interested in understanding these dynamics

  5. We get that we have accents all the time but we’re American so I think people say we do because they want to hear it. But mind you we’re originally from Florida so we talk different than people up here where we live(Connecticut)

    I can’t really explain it but as soon as I tell people I’m Cuban American, here come all these assumptions. Either I’m denying my blackness or not embracing my Latin-ness. In a sense I identify more with woman with African descent but I’ve had some black women just flat out disrespectful to me due to my “secret” heritage. I don’t blame them, we’ve been breed to each other, but it hurts sometimes.

    Remember when black women jumped on Zoe Saldana for being cast as Nina Simone because she was “Latina” and not black enough to play her? While I didn’t agree with the casting of Nina Simone( only because Nina talked about being thick lipped, petite and of a darker hue and Zoe is tall with finer black features) they were trying to deny her of her blackness because she did not fit their description of a real black woman.

    • its very interesting to me that you responded back to me instead of your sister. I have noticed this before from twins. Is is that you guys are acting as one singular individual? So I didn’t know who Zoe Saldana was for a second but thats what google is for right. Dear God….She screams of perfection. I digress..Yea she definitely is black. That type of behavior by African Americansd sickens me. We should be accepting of our brothers and sisters that come from other places. I mean clearly she was born here her parents probably came here. The only difference is language food and some customs. Throughout my travels though I notice that people are generally the same, we just do different thing. Just know that Negros Americanos will work tirelessly to bring folk together black brown white any color. I emailed su hermana…hopefully we can become linked better I’m interested in you lovely ladies

  6. Hey it’s Guinevere again, lol! My sister and I are going through all of your old posts and we love your ideals!I believe my twin sent you a friend request on fb, i’ll send one too! Like my sister said, we as people from the african diaspora have been breed to hate each other. Just the other day I overheard a female i thought had her mind right, but she uttered the most ignorant, bitter words about a girl she didn’t like because she was light skinned and mixed race looking?!?It’s things like that that upset me when it comes to women of african descent. I wish we we had more unity and I too am working on ways to change that. Glad to find like minded people 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

